Different

From the start I have always known

That I am not the same

It wasn’t always by choice

But more by genetics

Character Traits

 

In Elementary School

If the color of the week was pink

I would choose black instead

If they wanted girly skirts

I wanted boy-ish shorts

And I didn’t have many friends

And I wasn’t sure why

Because I didn’t see difference

But they all whispered around the playground

And in their groups

And In their seats

She’s too different

 

In Middle School

I tried to fit in

I wanted to be liked

If the color of the week was blue

I would choose blue

Though I still secretly wanted Black

If they wanted cool teenage dresses

I wanted the dresses too

Though I still secretly wanted boy-ish shorts

I was well liked

But I was still secretly different.

 

Older now in middle school

They began to gossip

and I became unsure

They began to change

and I began to change with them

And I began to hate myself

Because I wasn’t as different.

 

Now In High school

I still hate myself

Partially from changing with them

I have been looking for the piece that I lost

in all the wrong places.

 

If pink is the color of the week

I openly have black

If hipster is the style

I go more towards grunge

If pop and dubstep is whats cool

I stick with punk rock

and the same kids whisper

in their groups

around the lunch table

around the chairs

She’s too different.

 

(t.c)

Leave a comment