Naked Bones

I want to open myself up to you

Completely

Show myself to you

Exactly as I am

Completely as I am

No reservations

No holding back.

But I am afraid.

 

I am afraid that if I opened up

Let you see me as I am

You would walk away.

Leave.

 

I am afraid that I will open myself up to you

Strip down all the walls

All the facades

All the fake charades

That I show everyone else

I will be the one standing there

Emotionally naked

Emotionally bare

And you will look inside.

 

I am afraid that you will see me there

Emotionally Naked

Emotionally Bare

And you will look

And you will discover

That there is nothing you want

Nothing you desire

Housed in my lonely bones

 

I am afraid you will discover

That there is nothing you want

Hidden throughout my bones

And you will leave

 

I am afraid you will leave

After seeing me

Emotionally Naked

Emotionally Bare

And I will be left alone

Emotionally Naked

Emotionally Bare

Wishing that these

Lonely

Grey

and sad, sad bones

were enough for you

 

I am afraid you will leave

And I will be left alone

Emotionally Naked

Emotionally Bare

Crumpled on the ground

My pale ivory bones naked in the moonlight

Wishing that what my body holds

Was what you wanted.

 

(t.c)

Leave a Reply

