Landmine

“Every morning I jump out of bed and step on a landmine. The landmine is me. After the explosion, I spend the rest of the day putting the pieces together.”

-Ray Bradbury

 

I wake up and stare at the ceiling

Thinking about this day

And how I already hate it

Its just another day

Another day stuck here

 

One more day spent

Wishing

Waiting

Hoping

Dreaming

And planning ways out of here

 

One more day spent in

Anger

Pain

Annoyance

Contempt

And wishing I could be anywhere but here

 

Still laying in bed,

I close my eyes and hope for a good day

I get up

And think of ways to have a good day

 

I stand in front of a mirror

Studying myself

Hating every inch of me

Picking apart every section

Every inch

Of myself

 

I wish

For the millionth time

To be able to rip apart my body

My skin

My bones

And let the blood flow

Let the hate flow

Let the pain flow

Let the sorrow flow

(t.c)

Leave a Reply

